It’s kind of an accident that my first post on this blog is being written within minutes of the Summer solstice, but it’s certainly not inappropriate. Lots of things are happening in my life right now, and I started this blog as a way to document some of them. Just days ago, I finished (re)writing my thesis, and in less than two weeks, I’ll be graduating, bringing nine years of being a “mature” (sic) student  to an end. In exactly three weeks, I’ll be flying to the Pacific Northwest for an internship at the PAWS Wildlife Center, an internship, may I add, that has nothing to do with what I just spent close to a decade studying. To some people in my life, this makes perfect sense. To others (Hi mom!), it’s a waste of an education and a danger to my future career as an archaeologist and an academic.

Whatever. It’s something I have to do. I’ve wanted to work helping animals since I was a child, and this crossroads seemed like the perfect time to test those waters before getting mired in a career. Who knows what comes after that? I don’t believe this has to be an either/or question. I don’t believe in closing doors, nor do I think that’s what I’m doing. It’s never too late to do something you love, and the bones’ll be there when I’m ready for them.

I’ve always thought of myself as a late bloomer. Finally, at the age of mumblemumble, it feels like my life is starting to blossom.

